US Open
US Open
Golf Today Home PageAll the latest golf newsCoverage of all the worlds major toursFor all your golfing needsGolf Course DirectoryOut on the courseGolf related travelWhats going on
Preivew of this years tournament
News and report from the 1st round
Scores from the 1st round
News and report from the 2nd round
Scores from the 2nd round
News and report from the 3rd round
Scores from the 3rd round
News and report from the 4th round
Scores from the 4th round
Information on the golf course
Details of the prize money for the tournament
Tournament Records
Golf Today report of last years event
US Open Features
Tiger not the usual runaway favourite Lack of anticipation surrounds 103rd US Open
Olympia Fields will prove a tough test Duval showing signs of return to form
An older golfer could take US Open crown No problems with hecklers for Montgomerie
Talk of slump not slam for Tiger at US Open Usual Major questions for Phil Mickelson
Furyk a quiet favourite for US Open title Trying to return for normal for Davis Love III
Tiger confident of form going into US Open Perry surprise favourite at Olympia Fields

 Dates: Thursday, June 12th through Sunday, June 15th
 Site: Olympia Fields Country Club (North Course), Olympia Fields, Illinois
 Course Architect: Willie Park Jr (1923), Mark Mungeam (1997 - redesign)
 Par: 70
 Yardage: 7,190
 Hole-By-Hole: 1 - Par 5 576 yds   10 - Par 4 444 yds
               2 - Par 4 400 yds   11 - Par 4 467 yds
               3 - Par 4 389 yds   12 - Par 4 458 yds
               4 - Par 3 164 yds   13 - Par 4 397 yds
               5 - Par 4 440 yds   14 - Par 4 414 yds
               6 - Par 5 555 yds   15 - Par 3 187 yds
               7 - Par 3 212 yds   16 - Par 4 451 yds
               8 - Par 4 433 yds   17 - Par 3 247 yds
               9 - Par 4 496 yds   18 - Par 4 460 yds
                   -------------        -------------
                    36 3,665 yds         34 3,525 yds

 Annual: 103rd
 Defending Champion: Tiger Woods
 Runner-Up: Phil Mickelson
 Tournament Record: 272 (Jack Nicklaus, 1980; Lee Janzen, 1993 - Baltusrol;
                         Tiger Woods, 2000 - Pebble Beach)
 54-Hole Record: 203 (George Burns, 1981 - Merion; TC Chen, 1985 - Oakland
                      Hills, Lee Janzen, 1993)
 36-Hole Record: 134 (Jack Nicklaus, 1980; TC Chen, 1985, Lee Janzen, 1993;
                      Tiger Woods, 2000 - Pebble Beach)
 18-Hole Record: 63 (Johnny Miller, 1973 - Oakmont)
                    (Jack Nicklaus, 1980 - Baltusrol)
                    (Tom Weiskopf, 1980 - Baltusrol)
 U.S. Open 9-Hole Record: 29 (Neal Lancaster, 1995 - Shinnecock)
                             (Neal Lancaster, 1996 - Oakland Hills)
 Total Purse: $6,000,000
 Shares: 1st Place - $1,080,000; 2nd Place - 648,000; 3rd Place - 408,000
                                     Finish Last Ten Years
 Player             1993  1994  1995  1996  1997  1998  1999  2000  2001  2002
 ------             ----  ----  ----  ----  ----  ----  ----  ----  ----  ----
 Tiger Woods        dnp   dnp   wd    T-82  T-19  T-18  T-3   Won   T-12  Won
 Phil Mickelson     dnp   T-47  T-4   T-94  T-43  T-10  2nd   T-16  T-7   2nd
 Jeff Maggert       T-52  T-9   T-4   T-97  4th   T-7   T-7   mc    T-44  3rd
 Sergio Garcia      dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-46  T-12  4th
 Scott Hoch         T-5   T-13  T-56  T-7   T-10  mc    mc    T-16  T-16  T-5
 Nick Faldo         T-72  mc    T-45  T-16  T-48  mc    mc    7th   T-72  T-5
 Billy Mayfair      dnp   mc    dnp   T-32  dnp   dnp   T-10  mc    dnp   T-5
 Padraig Harrington dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    T-32  dnp   T-5   T-30  T-8
 Nick Price         T-11  mc    T-13  dnp   T-19  4th   T-23  T-27  mc    T-8
 Justin Leonard     T-68  dnp   dnp   T-50  T-36  T-40  T-15  T-16  mc    T-12
 Robert Allenby     T-33  dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    dnp   T-46  dnp   mc    T-12
 Jay Haas           T-77  mc    T-4   T-90  T-5   mc    T-17  dnp   dnp   T-12
 Steve Stricker     83rd  dnp   T-13  T-60  T-36  T-5   5th   T-27  mc    T-16
 Mark O'Meara       mc    mc    dnp   T-16  T-36  T-32  mc    T-51  mc    T-18
 Charles Howell III dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    T-18
 Davis Love III     T-33  T-28  T-4   T-2   T-16  mc    T-12  mc    T-7   T-24
 Chris DiMarco      dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-32  dnp   dnp   T-16  T-24
 Darren Clarke      dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    T-43  T-43  T-10  T-53  T-30  T-24
 Ernie Els          T-7   Won   mc    T-5   Won   T-48  mc    T-2   T-66  T-24
 Jeff Sluman        T-11  T-9   T-13  T-50  T-28  T-10  mc    mc    dnp   T-24
 Vijay Singh        mc    dnp   T-10  T-7   T-77  T-25  T-3   T-8   T-7   T-30
 Bernhard Langer    mc    T-23  T-36  dq    mc    mc    dnp   mc    T-40  T-35
 Rocco Mediate      T-25  wd    dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-34  T-32  4th   T-37
 Thomas Bjorn       dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-68  T-25  mc    T-46  T-22  T-37
 Stuart Appleby     dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-36  T-10  mc    mc    mc    T-37
 Tom Lehman         T-19  T-33  3rd   T-2   3rd   T-5   T-28  T-23  T-24  T-45
 David Toms         dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    wd    dnp   mc    T-16  T-66  T-45
 Kenny Perry        T-25  dnp   mc    T-50  mc    dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-45
 Tim Herron         dnp   dnp   mc    mc    dnp   T-53  6th   mc    T-40  T-50
 Jose M. Olazabal   mc    mc    T-28  dnp   T-16  T-18  wd    T-12  mc    T-50
 Corey Pavin        T-19  mc    Won   T-40  mc    mc    T-34  mc    T-19  T-54
 Jesper Parnevik    dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-48  T-14  T-17  mc    T-30  T-54
 Angel Cabrera      dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-37  T-7   T-66
 Brad Faxon         T-68  T-33  T-56  T-82  T-65  T-48  dnp   mc    mc    T-66
 John Daly          T-33  mc    T-45  T-27  wd    T-53  68th  wd    dnp   T-70
 Retief Goosen      dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    mc    T-12  Won   mc
 Mark Brooks        T-46  mc    dnp   T-16  mc    57th  mc    mc    2nd   mc
 Stewart Cink       dnp   dnp   dnp   T-16  T-13  T-13  T-32  T-8   3rd   mc
 Paul Azinger       T-3   dnp   mc    T-67  T-28  T-14  T-12  T-12  T-5   mc
 Kirk Triplett      T-52  T-23  dnp   T-40  dnp   mc    mc    56th  T-7   mc
 David Duval        dnp   dnp   T-28  T-67  T-48  T-7   T-7   T-8   T-16  mc
 Mike Weir          dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   mc    T-16  T-19  mc
 Scott Verplank     dnp   T-18  T-21  dnp   dnp   T-49  T-17  T-46  T-22  mc
 Hal Sutton         dnp   dnp   T-36  dnp   T-19  dnp   T-7   T-23  T-24  mc
 Steve Jones        dnp   dnp   dnp   Won   T-60  mc    mc    T-27  T-30  mc
 Bob Estes          T-52  dnp   mc    dnp   dnp   dnp   T-30  mc    T-30  mc
 Colin Montgomerie  T-33  T-2   T-28  T-10  2nd   T-18  T-15  T-46  T-52  mc
 Jim Furyk          dnp   T-28  dnp   T-5   T-5   T-14  T-17  60th  T-62  mc
 John Huston        mc    mc    mc    T-82  dnp   T-32  T-17  4th   mc    mc
 Michael Campbell   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-32  dnp   dnp   dnp   T-12  mc    mc
 Lee Janzen         Won   mc    T-13  T-10  T-52  Won   T-46  T-37  mc    mc
 Jerry Kelly        dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-57  T-37  dnp   mc
 Fred Couples       T-16  T-16  mc    dnp   T-52  T-53  mc    T-16  mc    dnp
 Carlos Franco      dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   dnp   T-34  T-61  mc    dnp
 Steve Elkington    T-33  dnp   T-36  T-40  T-24  mc    T-51  dnp   dnp   dnp
 mc  - Missed Cut
 wd  - Withdrew
 dnp - Did Not Play