About Us Contact Us Advertise Newsletter

Golf tournaments, events, majors

Golf Today > Tour Schedules > 2009 > European Tour > Madeira Islands Open > Round 4


Estanislao Goya clinches narrow victory

Argentine Estanislao Goya held his nerve to take the Madeira Islands Open on Sunday after a stunning late surge from Scott Callum Macaulay.

The 20-year-old, playing in only his sixth European Tour event, had led by three at the start of the final day but sneaked home for a one-stroke victory after closing with a 73 to finish six under par.

Macaulay had been 11 strokes adrift with nine to play but birdied eight of the last nine for a final round of 64 which equalled the course record.

The 25-year-old Briton was playing in only his fifth event and had Goya needing to par the last two holes to take the 116,660 Euro first prize after the Argentine double bogeyed the 492 yard par-four 16th.

“I want to be one of the best players in the world and this is one of the steps that I have to take to do that,” Goya told the tour website.

“It’s amazing that I have my tour card for the next two years and a win here in Madeira. It was just over a year ago that I was thinking how much I would love to play in Europe and here I am now having won—it has happened so quickly.”

Goya’s win launches him from 150th to 50th in The Race to Dubai.

Macaulay, last year’s Scottish champion, was delighted with his performance.

“To come back in 28 is unbelievable really. I don’t think I have ever done that at my home course, never mind here on the European tour,” he said.

“It’s a great result for me, and it will certainly help the confidence. I always felt that I could compete out here if I played my best and I suppose this just confirms that.”

Irishman Damien McGrane and Dutchman Wil Besseling shared third place on four under.


Clubhouse Scores

Golf Today Classifieds


Bookmark page with:
What are these Email This Page Subscribe Follow us on Twitter Top of Page
News Tours Rankings Tuition Course Directory Equipment Asian Travel Notice Board

© Golftoday.co.uk 1996-2014