Golf Today - Over 80000 pages of golf information
Golf News

Darren Clarke wins again after three years

Darren Clarke claimed his first European Tour title in three years after coming from behind to win the Iberdrola Open on Sunday.

The Northern Irishman trailed fellow Briton Chris Wood by four shots heading into Sunday but a final round 69 guided him to a three-stroke victory.

Clarke, who has won 13 European Tour titles, had endured a barren spell and picked up his last tour victory at the KLM Open in 2008.

“It’s a bit of a monkey to get off my back after three years not winning so it’s good,” Clarke said on the European Tour website

“At the same time I feel a lot for Chris Wood—he’s a young guy, a great player and I’ve been in his position before.

“On a personal note I’m delighted to have played quite nicely today and win the tournament.”

Wood endured a torrid final round hitting eight bogeys en route to a six-over-par final round 76 that left him tied for second with fellow Englishman David Lynn.

“(I am) obviously disappointed and gutted,” said Wood.

“It was an extremely tough day on the course and it was a bit of a grind all the way round.”



Flash Sales!
30% off Golf Care Golf Insurance...

Stuart Barber Blog
All Change for 2015...... Or Where do we go from here?

What's in the Bag?
What the winners are playing on Tour worldwide.

© 1996-2018 - Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - About Us - Advertise - Classifieds - Newsletter - Contact Us