Golf Today Home PageAll the latest golf newsCoverage of all the worlds major toursFor all your golfing needsGolf Course DirectoryOut on the courseGolf related travelWhats going on
Links to the World's Tour Schedules
This Week's Golf Action
News From the Tours
Europe's PGA Tour
Omega Asian Tour
World Tour
Other Major Tournaments Around the World
Profiles of Tour Players
Current Sony World Rankings

Tour News (posted 15th September 1998)

All star line up for the Dunhill Cup

London  - World number one Tiger Woods will make his Alfred Dunhill Cup debut in the 16-nation tournament in St. Andrews on 8th - 11th October.

The full line up include six of the world's top eight players.

Woods will be joined by Masters and Open champion Mark O'Meara and John Daly, who played in the Cup winning team in 1993. The United States has won the event three times in its 14-year history.

England and Ireland who have both won this title on two previous occasions will be led respectively by the current European nos 1 and 2, Lee Westwood and Darren Clarke. Scotland who won the title in 1995 will again be led by Colin Montgomerie

Defending champions South Africa are aiming to take the bulk of the 1.0 million purse again this year, having not made any changes to its 1997 winning line-up with 100,000 goes to each member of the winning team

David Frost and Retief Goosen will play alongside world number three Ernie Els.

The 16 teams will play a round robin format over the first three days, with the leading team in each of the four groups going through to the semifinal on 11th October. The final is scheduled for the afternoon.


Argentina: Eduardo Romero, Jose Coceres, Angel Cabrera.

Australia: Steve Elkington, Stuart Appleby, Craig Parry.

China: Zhang Lian-Wei, Cheng Jun, Wu Xiang-Bing.

England: Lee Westwood, David Carter, Peter Baker.

France: Jean van de Velde, Thomas Levet, Olivier Edmond.

Germany: Bernhard Langer, Alex Cejka, Sven Struver.

Ireland: Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, Paul McGinley.

Japan: Hiroyuki Fujita, Katsumasa Miyamoto, Nobuo Serizawa. 

South Korea: Kim Jong-Duck, Kang Wook-Soon, Shin Yong-Jin.

New Zealand: Frank Nobilo, Greg Turner, Michael Long.

Scotland: Colin Montgomerie, Andrew Coltart, Gary Orr.

South Africa: Ernie Els, David Frost, Retief Goosen.

Spain: Jose Maria Olazabal, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Santiago Luna.

Sweden: Mathias Gronberg, Per-Ulrik Johansson, Patrik Sjoland.

United States: John Daly, Mark O'Meara, Tiger Woods.

Zimbabwe: Nick Price, Mark McNulty, Tony Johnstone.